History of George Rogers Clark Statue in Riverview Park Quincy, IL

George Rogers Clark Statue | Riverview Park Quincy, IL

Riverview Park is located on sixteen acres at 2nd and Chestnut Streets. Its main attraction is a breathtaking view of the river. A statue of George Rogers-Clark overlooks the Mississippi River. The George Rogers Clark Statue was dedicated May 22, 1909 by Illinois Governor Deneen. Charles J. Mulligan of Chicago was the artist that created the statue. The statue figuratively represents the hero claiming for his country the great Northwest Territory during the Revolutionary War.

George Rogers Clark was the brother of the famous explorer William Clark of the Lewis & Clark Expeditions.

 Following a concert and military parade, the statue was unveiled May 22nd, 1909

“The day opened a little threatening (but) the sun came out bright later,” and soon “the weather was all that one could wish.” A crowd of about 9,000 people gathered for what the Quincy Daily Whig called, “the most auspicious general public celebration held in this city since the memorable dedication of the Illinois Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Home … in 1886.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.